Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Barbara Reynolds Memorial Archives: MS5: Anti-Nuclear Movement Collection

Scope of MS5

Newspaper clippings, U.S. government hearings and reports, news magazine articles, correspondence are included in this collection of resources on the development of nuclear energy, the effects of war from the viewpoints of U.S. servicemen from World War II and the Holocaust to the Persian Gulf War.  Nuclear fallout, peace movements, conscientious objection activities as covered by the media are part of this series.

MS5 Subseries I: Development of the Atomic Bomb

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
3 3 42 Decision to Use the Bomb:1940s 1945-1949
3 3 43 Decision to Use the Bomb: 1950s 1950
3 3 44 Decision to Use the Bomb: 1960s 1960-1964
3 3 45 Decision to Use the Bomb: 1970s 1970-1981
3 3 46 Decision to Use the Bomb: 1980s 1980-1989
3 3 47 Decision to Use the Bomb:1990s-undated 1990-1996
3 3 48 Einstein, Albert 1945-1999
3 3 49 Japanese A-Bomb Reasearch 1978-1995
3 3 50 Museums 1949-1998
3 3 51 Oppenheimer, Robert 1948-1995
3 3 52 Szilard, Leo 1961-1985
3 3 53 Teller, Edward 1958-1984
3 3 54 White Paper on the Atomic Bombings One No Dates
3 3 55 White Paper on the Atomic Bombings Two  No Dates
3 3 56 White Paper on the Atomic Bombings Three No Dates
3 3 57 White Paper on the Atomic Bombings Four No Dates

 

MS5 subseries II Arms Race

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
3 3 58 Booklets 1986
3 3 59 Chemical Weapons-Biological 1980-1990
3 3 60 Emergency Committee of Atomic Scientists 1947
3 3 61 Japanese at UN for Disarmament 1978 1978
3 3 62 Nuclear Accidents 1958-1989
3 3 63 Nuclear Proliferation  1964-1994
3 3 64 Nuclear Submarines/Nuclear Submarine Hazards 1971-1989
3 4 1 Nuclear Submarine Trident 1975-1996
3 4 2 Nuclear Weapons 1959-1987 1957-1987
3 4 3 Nuclear Weapons 1988-1989 1980-1989
3 4 4 Nuclear Weapons 1990-1991 1977-1992
3 4 5 Nuclear Weapons 1991-1994 1991-1994
3 4 6 Nuclear Weapons 1995-1996 1989-1997
3 4 7 Nuclear Weapons Fernald Plant 1984-1996
3 4 8 Weapons in Outer Space 1965-1995
3 4 9 Economics: Arms Sales 1991-1996
3 4 10 Economic Conversions 1988-1996
3 4 11 Economics: Military Spending 1956-1996

 

MS5 subseries III Nuclear Arms Treaty

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
3 4 13 Arms Control 1966-1995
3 4 14 Banning Weapons in Outer Space 1983-1985
3 4 15 Geneva Talks: Reducing Nuclear Weapons in Europe  1981-1989
3 4 16 SALT II Agreement 1979-1980
3 4 17 START 1982-1990
3 4 18 Papers and Dissertations: A New-Hope Nuclear Weapon-Free Zones (Historical Background) Eiko Nagasue 1976

 

MS5 subseries IV Nuclear Testing

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
3 4 19 A-Bomb Crews 1950-2007
3 4 20 Comprehensive Test Ban 1961-1996
3 4 21 Exposure of G.I.s 1971-1987
3 4 22 Exposure of G.I.s Smitherman 1979-1982
3 4 23 Exposures of Islanders -General 1946-1987
3 4 24 Exposure of Islanders New Media 1968-1990
3 4 25 Exposure of Islanders Publications 1956-1982
3 4 26 H-Bomb Testing 1954-1955 1954-1978
3 4 27 High Altitude Testing 1962
3 4 28 Nuclear Free Pacific 1979-1991
3 4 29 Nuclear Testing 1954-1957 1953-1957
3 4 30 Nuclear Testing 1958-1959 1957-1959
3 4 31 Nuclear Testing 1960-1969 1959-1969
3 4 32 Nuclear Testing 1970-1981 1971-1982
3 4 33 Nuclear Testing 1982-1996 1982-1996
3 4 34 Nuclear Testing Outside of the United States 1960-1998
3 4 35 Underground Nuclear Tests 1964-1991
3 4 36 Papers and Dissertations: Under the Mushroom by Lee Waisler 1986

 

MS5-subseries V Nuclear Testing

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
4 1 1 Accidents 1960-1992
4 1 2 Accidents: Chernobyl  1986-2000
4 1 3 Accidents: Three Mile Island 1979 1979
4 1 4 Accidents: Three Mile Island 1980-1990 1980-1990
4 1 5 Atomic Energy Commission  1946-1978
4 1 6 Atomic Power: Peaceful Uses 1953-1965
4 1 7 Breeder Reactors 1972-1982
4 1 8 Decommissioning  1977-1988
4 1 9 Economic Debate 1972-1996
4 1 10 France 1977-1982
4 1 11 Fusion 1978-1989
4 1 12 Hazards, 1965-1974 1965-1975
4 1 13 Hazards, 1975-1977 1975-1977
4 1 14 Hazards, 1978-1979 1977-1979
4 1 15 Hazards, 1980-1982 1980-1982
4 1 16 Hazards, 1983-1996 1983-1996
4 1 17 Hazards, No Dates No Dates
4 1 18 High Energy Physics  1980-1987
4 1 19 Japan 1961-1996
4 1 20 Legislation 1988-1992
4 1 21 Maps 1977-1979
4 1 22 Marble Hill 1979-1982
4 1 23 Missing Fuel 1974-1981
4 1 24 Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1979-1987
4 1 25 Nuclear Weapons 1974-1984
4 1 26 Pamphlets 1973-1977
4 1 27 Posters 1975-1980
4 1 28 Pro Nuclear Energy  1957-1993
4 1 29 Protest 1958-1981
4 1 30 Radioactive Wastes-Military  1980-1994
4 1 31 Radioactive Wastes 1967-1980 1967-1980
4 1 32 Radioactive Wastes 1981-1987 1974-1987
4 1 33 Radioactive Wastes 1988-1995 1959-1995
4 1 34 Reprocessing Plants 1974-1996
4 1 35 Sea Brook 1976-1979
4 1 36 Silkwood Case 1974-1984
4 1 37 Transportation of Wastes 1974-1993
4 1 38 Uranium Mining 1955-1988
4 1 39 Zimmer Plant-Citizens Against Radioactive Environment (CARE) 1979-1983
4 1 40 Zimmer Plant 1973-1980 1973-1980
4 1 41 Zimmer Plant 1981-1982 1981-1982
4 1 42 Zimmer Plant 1983-1987 1983-1987

 

MS5-subseries VI Radiation Hazards

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
4 1 43 Center for Atomic Radiation Studies (Acton, MA) 1984-1990
4 1 44 General 1958-1995
4 1 45 Irradiation 1981-1991
4 1 46 National Citizen's Hearing for Radiation Victims 1978-1987
4 1 47 News Media 1954-1995
4 1 48 Publications 1954-1974
4 1 49 Radiation Victims 1987-1994
4 1 50 Papers and Dissertations: Neglected Aspects of the Health Effects of Low Level Ionizing Radiation on Man by Edward Martell 1976

 

MS5-subseries VII Effects of War

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
4 2 1 Cartoons 1970-1988
4 2 2 Chemical Poisoning  1980
4 2 3 Citizen Solider Veteran's Organization 1981
4 2 4 Nuclear Terrorism  1978-1983
4 2 5 Persian Gulf Resources 1990-1991
4 2 6 Personal Accounts: U.S Servicemen 1942-1983
4 2 7 Photographs 1952
4 2 8 Reconciliation  1977-1987
4 2 9 The Holocaust 1957-1982
4 2 10 Threat of War: Psychological Effects 1957-1990
4 2 11 War Poems 1931-1986
4 2 12 Accidental Nuclear War 1960-1991
4 2 13 Effects  1965-1995
4 2 14 Effects of War: Effects of Specific Locations 1950-1986
4 2 15 Electromagnetic Pulse (EMP) 1981-1990
4 2 16 Nuclear War: General  
4 2 17 Nuclear War: Nuclear Winter  
4 2 18 Nuclear War: Quotes 1975-1985
4 2 19 WWII 1932-1985
4 2 20 Papers and Dissertation Titles: Effects on War, Pacifism  1980
4 2 21 Papers and Dissertations: "Nuclear Deterrence and Arms Control" Reishtien  1970
4 2 22 Papers and Dissertations: "The Fallacy of Deterrence: Theory and the Human Response to the Threat of Nuclear War" Paul L. Hodel 1976
4 2 23 Papers and Dissertations: "World Arbitration Council" William Flaherety 1978-1979

 

MS5 subseries VIII Committee for A-Bomb Survivors in the US

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
4 2 24 CABSUS Congressional Hearing-March 31st, 1978 1978
4 2 25 Correspondence 1975-1990
4 2 26 History 1974-1975
4 2 27 Kuramoto, Kanji 1974-1980
4 2 28 Leaflets 1972-1991
4 2 29 Legislation 1973-1981
4 2 30 Legislation Supporters 1972-1977
4 2 31 Mailing 1974-1977
4 2 32 Materials in Japanese  
4 2 33 News (English and Translated  
4 2 34 Newspaper Clippings  
4 2 35 Newspaper Clippings (Japanese)  
4 2 36 Petitions  
4 2 37 Photographs  
4 2 38 Radiation Effects  
4 2 39 Radiation Exposure  
4 2 40 Suyeishi, Kaz  
4 2 41 Suyeishi, Kaz-Correspondence  
4 2 42 Task Force on A-Bomb Survivors  

MS5 subseries IX Fallouts

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
4 2 43 Agreement 1963-1965  
4 2 44 Booklets and Pamphlets  
4 2 45 Congressional Records/ Bills  
4 2 46 Correspondence  
4 2 47 Detection Hearing, August 1961  
4 2 48 Essays  
4 2 49 Government Hearings: Joint Committees on Atomic Energy Summary-Analysis of Hearing  
4 2 50 Government Hearings 1962  
4 2 51 Government Publications  
4 2 52 Government Releases  
4 2 53 Government Statements  
4 2 54 Newsletters and Memos  
4 2 55 Newspaper Clippings 1954-1957  
4 2 56 Newspaper Clippings 1958-1959  
4 2 57 Newspaper Clippings 1960-1965  
4 2 58 Publications  
4 2 59 Publications on Atomic Danger  
4 2 60 Reports  
4 2 61 Statements  
4 2 62 Treaty Banning Nuclear Weapon Testing in the Atmosphere-General  

 

MS5 Subseries X- Individual Responses

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
4 3 1 Development of the Atomic Bomb: Individual Responses: 1940s-1950s  
4 3 2 Development of the Atomic Bomb: Individual Responses: 1960s  
4 3 3 Development of the Atomic Bomb: Individual Responses: 1970s  
4 3 4 Development of the Atomic Bomb: Individual Responses: 1980s  
4 3 5 Development of the Atomic Bomb: Individual Responses : 1990s  
4 3 6 Development of the Atomic Bomb: Individual Responses: No Dates  
4 3 7 Berg, Suzanne  
4 3 8 Childers, Barry  
4 3 9 Ellsberg, Daniel  
4 3 10 "Everyman"  
4 3 11 Frank, Jerome  
4 3 12 Geiger, Walton, B.  
4 3 13 Dr Heimlich, Henry J.  
4 3 14 Kapitza, Piotr  
4 3 15 Laucks, Irving (1882-1991)  
4 3 16 Lovejoy, Samuel   
4 3 17 Muste, AJ  
4 3 18 Nicholson, Herbert 1978
4 3 19 Phillips, John Aristotle- "The A-Bomb Kid"  
4 3 20 Schweitzer, Albert  
4 3 21 Skinner, Lawrence W.  

 

MS5 Subseries XII Stephen McNeil Collection

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
4 3 22 Disarmament   
4 3 23 Bombing Aftermath 1952-2010
4 3 24 Atomic Bombings -Media and Publications  1955-1995
4 3 25 Nuclear Arms Control- National Defense  
4 3 26 Nuclear Disarmament- Misc.   

 


Blackboard // Campus Map // Student Success Lounge // WC Homepage // WC Directory // WC Bookstore // WC Portal

Address: Watson Library - Pyle Center Box 1227, Wilmington College, 1870 Quaker Way, Wilmington, OH 45177

Creative Commons License