Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Barbara Reynolds Memorial Archives: MS3: Rodney Barker Papers

Scope of MS3

Rodney Barker, author of "Hiroshima Maidens" published in 1985 is the focus of the third series in the Barbara Reynolds Memorial Archive.  This series includes newspaper clippings, correspondence for his research, Barker's personal notes, a draft of his book, and cassette tapes of interviews he conducted with the women in the book. Correspondence with the U.S. Department of State includes reactions from U.S. Citizens to the journey of the maidens to the U.S. for medical treatment and their televised appearance from 1955 on "This is Your Life."

MS3-Subseries I Rodney Barker Notes

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
3 1 32 Barker Manuscript Collection No Dates
3 1 33 Barker Notes; On Cousins, Norman, Rev. Tanimoto, and others 1980
3 1 34 Barker Notes; On Green, Norman No Dates
3 1 35 Barker Notes; On Misako No Dates
3 1 36 Barker Notes; On Yamamoto, Atsuko No Dates
3 1 37 Barker Notes; Yokoyama, Helen 1957
3 1 38 Barker Notes; Misc. One No Dates
3 1 39 Barker Notes; Misc. Two 1957
3 1 40 Barker Notes; Misc. Three 1981

 

MS3-Subseries II Correspondence

Cabinet Drawer Order of File Title of Folders Dates of Archives
3 1 41 Barker, Rodney 1978-1986
3 1 42 Cousins, Norman and Jack Penn 1950-1983
3 1 43 Cousins, Norman 1957
3 1 44 Cousins, Norman and John Hows 1955-1956
3 1 45 Cousins, Norman and Todo Wantanabe 1956-1957
3 1 46 Day, Ida 1956-1959
3 1 47 Hitzig, William M. 1956
3 1 48 Yokoyama, Helen 1958-1959
3 1 49 Yokoyama, Helen, and Ida Day 1955-1959
3 1 50 Miscellaneous 1952-1977

 

MS3-Subseries III Hiroshima Maidens

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folders Dates of Archives
3 1 51 Accounts of Hiroshima 1985
3 1 52 Facts 1955-1984
3 1 53 Medical Information 1955-1979
3 1 54 Newspaper Clippings and Articles 1955-1956
3 1 55 Peace Center Foundations and Maidens 1952-1958
3 1 56 Saturday Review Executive Committee Minutes 1955-1956
3 1 57 Toyoko Minowa-Her Account of Hiroshima No Dates
3 1 58 U.S. Government/Department of State Materials 1955-1981
3 1 59 Misc. Office Materials 1949-1996

 

MS3-Subseries IV Literature

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
3 1 60 Draft of Book about Rev. Tanimoto No Dates
3 1 61 Excerpts from Books 1978-1985
3 1 62 The Hiroshima Maidens Draft 1955

 

MS3-Subseries V News Media

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
3 1 63 Articles 1950-1984
3 1 64 Articles from the Saturday Review 1949-1958
3 1 65 News Media: Medical Atomic Radiation Affects 1948-1985
3 1 66 Newspaper Clippings 1951-2012
3 1 67 Nuclear Information 1945-1985

 

MS4-Hiroshima Madiens

Cabinet Drawer File Order Title of Folder Dates of Archives
3 2 1 Hiroshima Maidens: Correspondence from Hiroshima Maidens 1955-1960
3 2 2 Hiroshima Maidens: Correspondence, Apsey  1956
3 2 3 Hiroshima Maidens: Correspondence, Cousins, Norman 1955-1970
3 2 4 Hiroshima Maidens: Correspondence, Day, Ida 1956-1958
3 2 5 Hiroshima Maidens: Correspondence, Replogle  No Dates
3 2 6 Hiroshima Maidens: Correspondence, Rick, Dorothy  No Dates
3 2 7 Hiroshima Maidens: Editorials, Saturday Review 1949-1990
3 2 8 Hiroshima Maidens: Hiroshima Peace Center Association 1955
3 2 9 Hiroshima Maidens: New York Friends Center 1955-1956
3 2 10 Hiroshima Maidens: Newspaper Clippings 1955-1996
3 2 11 Hiroshima Maidens: Periodicals  1955-1965
3 2 12 Hiroshima Maidens: Photographs 1955-1959
3 2 13 Hiroshima Maidens: Shikishi (Calligraphy)  No Dates

 

MS3-Subseries VI Cassette Tapes


Blackboard // Campus Map // Student Success Lounge // WC Homepage // WC Directory // WC Bookstore // WC Portal

Address: Watson Library - Pyle Center Box 1227, Wilmington College, 1870 Quaker Way, Wilmington, OH 45177

Creative Commons License