Watson Library: Peace Resource Center: Barbara Reynolds Memorial Archives : MS2: Collection on Barbara Reynolds Correspondence and Other Materials

Scope of MS2

Earle Reyolds (University of Chicago and Wisconsin educated professor at Antioch College) traveled with his wife Barbara and their children to Japan at the request of the National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council to study the effects of radiation from the atomic bombings on surviving children with particular focus on their growth and development from an anthropological and medical perspective during the 1950s and early 1960s. Research reports and findings from this work are included in this series of archival materials. The work led to a passion for nuclear disarmament which included sailing around the world to various ports around the world in protest of nuclear armament including Russia and the Bikini Islands. An attempt to sail to Shanghai for a goodwill mission resulted in arrest and trial, as did the attempt to reach the Bikini Islands protesting nuclear testing. Reynolds traveled to North Vietnam in 1961 to deliver medical supplies for civilians to the Red Cross. Correspondence, news clippings, legal documents, anti-nuclear protest efforts and collaborations are all included in this series. Additional correspondence of note includes that of Presidents Nixon and Carter. Barbara Reynolds and hibakusa developed many international relations during years of anti-nuclear protests and peace efforts with attendance at peace conferences and symposiums during the 1960s. Her work resulted in numerous manuscripts and other works which are part of this series.

MS2-Subseries I Collection on Barbara Reynolds

Cabinet	Drawer	File Order	Title of Folder	Dates of Archives
2	4	1	Ann Arbor Women for Peace Reunion	1961-1989
2	4	2	Articles in Periodicals, Newsletters, and Journals	1948-1981
2	4	3	Autobiographical Materials	1967-2009
2	4	4	Autobiographical Materials-Cry to your Heart's Content	No Dates
2	4	5	Autobiographical Materials-The Phoenix and the Dove	1986
2	4	6	"Barbara Reynolds' Early Story" Folder, Charlotte Pack	2006
2	4	7	Correspondence Linner, Rachelle	1984-1989
2	4	8	Correspondence 1952-1965	1952-1965
2	4	9	Correspondence 1966-1968	1966-1968
2	4	10	Correspondence 1969-1970	1969-1970
2	4	11	Correspondence 1971-1972	1971-1972
2	4	12	Correspondence 1973-1976	1973-1976
2	4	13	Correspondence 1977-1979	1977-1979
2	4	14	Correspondence 1980-1981	1980-1981
2	4	15	Correspondence 1982-1983	1982-1983
2	4	16	Correspondence 1984-1985	1984-1985
2	4	17	Correspondence 1986-1990	1986-1990
2	4	18	Correspondence	No Dates
2	4	19	Events	1963-1986
2	4	20	Goodbye to Hiroshima: Writings by Mrs. Barbara Reynolds	1969
2	4	21	Honorary Citizen of Hiroshima	1975-1995
2	4	22	In Memoriam	1990
2	4	23	International Symposium on the Damage and After Effects of the Atomic Bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki	1977
2	4	24	Newspaper Clippings	1953-2011
2	4	25	Newspaper Clippings-Peace Resource Center	1974-1980
2	4	26	Reflections About Barbara Reynolds	1995-2009
2	4	27	Student Reactions to Hiroshima and Nagasaki	1977
2	4	28	Timelines	2008-2009
2	4	29	Wonder Woman Award	1982-1985
2	4	30	Writings about Barbara Reynolds	1965-1985
2	4	31	Writings by Barbara Reynolds	1963
2	4	32	Miscellaneous	1961-1990

MS2-Subseries II Collection on Earle Reynolds

Cabinet	Drawer	File Order	Title of Folder	Dates of Archives
2	4	33	Announcement	1962
2	4	34	Lloyd's Register of American Yachts	1971
2	4	35	ABCC (Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission)	1951-1960
2	4	36	ABCC Physical Growth Study	1951-1953
2	4	37	Articles and Newspaper Clippings	1960-2009
2	4	38	Biographical Material	1969-1971
2	4	39	Booklet-Nagasaki Yacht Club Honorary Members	1944
2	4	40	Correspondence	1963-1974
2	4	41	Correspondence-Cousins, Norman	1962-1969
2	4	42	Departure from Japan-Sailed Yokohama Arrived	1970
2	4	43	Deportation from Japan	1969-1970
2	4	44	Everyman III	1958-1986
2	4	45	Expulsion from Japan	1969
2	4	46	First Trip to China-Data for Attorney	1968-1970
2	4	47	First Trip to China-Trial Statements	1962-1969
2	4	48	First Voyage to Vietnam	1967-1985
2	4	49	HIPS- Inaugural Speech by Earle Reynolds	1962
2	4	50	HIPS- Report to Wenner-Gren Foundation on HIPS Project	1963-1966
2	4	51	HIPS (Hiroshima Institute for Peace Studies)	1962-1971
2	4	52	Hiroshima Conference Peace Science Society	1977-1978
2	4	53	Injunction at University of Mississippi	1969
2	4	54	Nagasaki Trial	1968-1971
2	4	55	Nagasaki Trial- China Voyage	1970
2	4	56	Nagasaki Yacht-Club Photos	No Dates
2	4	57	Oral History of Earle Reynolds and Dana Shoemaker	1986
2	4	58	Passport Revocations	1966-1968
2	4	59	Presentation at the American Anthropological Association Annual Meeting	1963
2	4	60	Proposal: Hiroshima Memorial Peace Library	1964
2	4	61	Quakers Adrift 1	1960-1970
2	4	62	Quakers Adrift 2	1960-1970
2	4	63	Quakers Adrift Notes and Drafts	1960
2	4	64	Resumes	1968-1969
2	4	65	Sale of "Phoenix"	1970-1974
2	4	66	Santa Cruz County Proclamation Celebrating and Honoring Earle Reynolds	1990
2	4	67	Second Voyage to China	1969
2	4	68	Second Voyage to Vietnam	1967-1968
2	4	69	Speaking Tours	1958-1965
2	4	70	Speaking Tours Sponsored by AFSC	1959
2	4	71	The Phoenix Voyage to Vietnam	1967
2	4	72	Trial (1968) Correspondence	1968-1969
2	4	73	Trail 1968 General	1968-1969
2	4	74	Trial 1968 Notes 1	1968
2	4	75	Trial 1968 Notes 2	1968-1969
2	4	76	Trip to China	1968-1969
2	4	77	Voyage to Vietnam-Medical Supplies Prepared by Hibakusha	1967
2	4	78	Voyage to Vietnam-Phoenix Comes Home	1967
2	4	79	Voyage to Vietnam-Friends Journal	1967
2	4	80	Writings by Earle Reynolds	1958-1978
2	4	81	Writings by Earle Reynolds- "Farewell to Hiroshima"	1970
2	4	82	Writings by Earle Reynolds- "Growth and Development of Hiroshima Children Exposed to the Atomic Bomb"	1960
2	4	83	Writings by Earle Reynolds-"Phoenix Sails to Haiphong"	1967
2	4	84	Miscellaneous	1967-1974
2	4	85	The Hiroshima Hibakusha as an Anthropological Entity by Earle Reynolds	No Dates
2	4	86	Irradiation and Human Evolution by Earle Reynolds	1960
2	4	87	Hiroshima, the Atom, and the World by Earle Reynolds	1961
2	4	88	Personal Relations with Gensuiko by Earle Reynolds	1962
2	4	89	Supreme Court of the United States Petition of Writ of Certiorari (Atomic Energy Commission)	1963-1964

MS2-Subseries III Collection on the Reynolds Family

Cabinet	Drawer	File Order	Title of Folder	Dates of Archives
3	1	1	"For the Anti-Atomic Hydrogen-Bomb Movement in Japan" by H.Matsumoto	1961
3	1	2	Articles by Jessica Reynolds	1959-1995
3	1	3	Correspondence From Earle and Barbara Reynolds	1958-1962
3	1	4	Correspondence To Barbara and Earle Reynolds	1961-1963
3	1	5	To Russia with Love (Japanese)	1962
3	1	6	To Russia with Love-Manuscript 1	1962
3	1	7	To Russia with Love-Manuscript 2	1962
3	1	8	To Russia with Love-Manuscript 3	1962
3	1	9	To Russia with Love: An American Family Challenges Nuclear Testing by Jessica Reynolds	2010
3	1	10	Voyage to Russia-Purpose	1961
3	1	11	Voyage to Russia	1961
3	1	12	White House Correspondence	1968-1977
3	1	13	Letter to Public-Final Outcome of Bikini Voyage	1961

MS2-Subseries IV Voyage of the Phoenix Records

Cabinet	Drawer	File Order	Title of Folder	Dates of Archives
3	1	14	Arrest in Pacific	1958
3	1	15	Articles	1958-1961
3	1	16	Correspondence	No Dates
3	1	17	Earle Reynolds-Phoenix Trial	1958-1960
3	1	18	Golden Rule	1958
3	1	19	Honolulu Trial #1	1958-1959
3	1	20	Honolulu Trial #2	1958-1962
3	1	21	Individual Responses by Ted and Jessica Reynolds	1958-1962
3	1	22	Jessica's Journal Published 1958	1958-2009
3	1	23	Phoenix Voyage	1954-2009
3	1	24	References on the Phoenix Case (1958 Voyage into the Bikini Test Zone)	1958
3	1	25	Return to Japan Party Pictures	1960
3	1	26	Voyage of the Phoenix (Film)	1967
3	1	27	General	1956
3	1	28	Syd Cassyd: Plans of Phoenix	1952
3	1	29	Syd Cassyd: Correspondence- Reynolds Family	1955-1961
3	1	30	Syd Cassyd: Correspondence: The Forbidden Voyage of the Phoenix (Film)	1958-1990
3	1	31	Sid Cassyd: General: The Forbidden Voyage of the Phoenix (Film)	1946-1959