Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wilmington College - Cincinnati Programs: 4. Access - Finding Books, Videos, and Articles

BOOKS, EBOOKS, VIDEOS? Use the OPAL and OhioLINK Catalogs

Part 1. ESSENTIAL SKILL - USING THE LC CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM  (20 min. or less)

      Why?  To locate needed books or "browse shelves" inside the library; to browse by LC number in the online Catalog

1.   To locate books and videos in Watson Library (and most other academic libraries), you will use the Library of Congress Classification System,  the "LC" system.  It is alphabet based.  School and public libraries most often use the Dewey Decimal System, which is number based.

A. What is the LC Classification System?  Click here: LC Classification   - find your current major area

B. Click to learn the basics of the LC shelving system:  http://www.usg.edu/galileo/skills/unit03/libraries03_04.phtml

 [Lincoln Memorial University, Carnegie Vincent Library]

 

2.  Next, self-check on LC system skills - try this self-quiz: 

Try this different self-quiz of your knowledge of the LC system.  http://www.library.kent.edu/page/13762    [Drag and Drop quiz from Kent State University Libraries, immediate feedback].

Anytime you have questions about LC , please stop by to see a Watson Librarian or email us at  mailto:library@wilmington.edu

 

Part 2.  ESSENTIAL SKILL - NAVIGATING THE OPAL CATALOG - Easy as ABC   (16 min. total)

A.  (3 min.) Where's Watson/OPAL Catalog on the Internet:  [http://cat.opal-libraries.org   is just one way]

B.  (7 min.) Using one of the three ways to find the OPAL catalog on the Internet, open the Watson/OPAL Catalog and review the content of this FAQ link   http://cat.opal-libraries.org/screens/help.html  and the other tabs for information about using the OPAL catalog.   Much of the navigation information applies also to OhioLINK because the same software is used in OPAL, OhioLINK Main, and SearchOHIO web-based catalogs.

      For Keyword search, click on Keyword, and then, read over the Search Examples.

      For Title search, click on Title, and then, read over the Search Examples.

      For Author search, click on Author, and then, read over the Search Examples.

___________________________

OK, SO HOW DO I REQUEST AN ITEM FROM ANOTHER LIBRARY?

To REQUEST an item in OhioLINK, use one of the green "Request" buttons.   In OPAL, use the GRAY request button.  Once you find an item in the Catalog that you want, click REQUEST, then choose Wilmington as your institution. Enter your name and barcode number.  YOUR BARCODE NUMBER IS 000 + your student ID number (example -- 0001234546 - must be 9 digits total).   It will take about up to 14 days to bring in an item from another OhioLINK library to the institution you have selected as a pickup location.   

 

POWER TIP: Opening Ebooks

IMPORTANT TIP: HELP - The E-Book won't open!!! 

Watson Library offers more electronic (ebooks) than print books.  You must be in the Watson only/OPAL Catalog to access Watson's ebooks. If the E-book won't open, you may be trying to access ebooks belonging to other libraries as listed in the OPAL All-Locations or the OhioLINK catalogs.

Return to the Watson only/OPAL/Wilmington profile version of the OPAL catalog.    http://cat.opal-libraries.org/search~S22/X

Off campus/network, you will be prompted to login with your last name and 9-digit library number to open a Watson ebook. 

ARTICLES, JOURNAL ARTICLES: Use Watson's 140 Databases

Master This Skill and Save Time, Achieve Great Results!

LEARN TO MAKE GOOD USE OF A DATABASE THAT INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS JOURNAL AND MAGAZINE ARTICLES:

(6 min.) View this tutorial about the  searching databases:

This demo on YouTube gives you an overview of database navigation that you can use with any of the databases.  The principles of navigation apply to all of our information databases which index and abstract articles.

WHERE CAN I FIND  "BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE,"  "ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE," "MASTERFILE PREMIER"  DATABASES AND OTHERS?

Skill Booster -- How Do I Find Scholarly Journals in Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete, and other EBSCO Databases??

Skill Booster -- Using Subject Terms in Academic Search Complete

For "expert" searching, work with the Subject terms that come up in your search results.   Here's an example of the difference between the number of articles retrieved in Keyword and Subject searching in Academic Search Complete, beginning with SPORTS as a keyword. More is not better.  Notice that as your search terms become more specific, your results list gets smaller, more focused, and more workable.

 

 

No Field Selected (Keyword)

Subject

Sports

510,992

138,455

Football

128,463

72,785

National Football League

28,989

422

Special Teams

2,285

57

ebook reader

Kodomut via Flickr

Image source: kodomut via Flickr


Blackboard // Campus Map // Student Success Lounge // WC Homepage // WC Directory // WC Bookstore // WC Portal

Address: Watson Library - Pyle Center Box 1227, Wilmington College, 1870 Quaker Way, Wilmington, OH 45177

Creative Commons License