It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HI495: History Senior Seminar -- Anne Daniels / Keith Orejel: Finding Journal Articles in History Databases
Please complete form, print, and submit in person to Watson Circulation Desk, or give to a Watson librarian (Lucinda, Elizabeth, or Lee).
EFFICIENCY TIP -- When your Watson librarian cannot locate a citation in house or online, the next step is to consider requesting an Interlibrary Loan. Since this process may take a couple of weeks, do plan ahead. Request only articles that promise to deliver quality information.
Starting points for your research project
Key databases for History research
Find scholarly journals and other periodicals in these databases. You can combine (cross-search) any of the EBSCO databases -- for example, America: History and Life together with Academic Search Complete/Premier. Use other subject databases that are a suitable match for your topic.
Historical Abstracts is the definitive index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from more than 11,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles. New articles are added daily.
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study. Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
The collection is arranged in three series: 1741-1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800-1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction. Magazines of these periods cover the literature, science, religion, arts, and history of the time.
This handout illustrates the fine points of searching in the EBSCO databases, including America: History & Life, Academic Search Complete, Historical Abstracts, and many others in the EBSCO suite.
NOTE: Watson librarians advise NOT checking the Full Text limiter in the EBSCO databases if you are working on a major research project. Often there is fulltext from another OhioLINK source that isn't picked up by the full text limit. Ask Us if you have questions about finding full text!
Additional databases for HI495
Here are more search tools for history research. Your topic will determine your database choices. If you aren't sure which are the best databases for your project, Ask Us!
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work, available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
Completely expanded and revised.
Fully cross-referenced and indexed.
Landmark reference now available as an electronic database.
Downloadable and customizable to suit individual areas of interest.
Download tables in Excel or CSV; also download entire groups of tables as a zip file.
Create custom tables; merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.
Advanced searching of the tables, their documentation, and essays.
Full citation downloading in RIS, text, or CSV format.
Save your search criteria
Search within a chapter or volume
Bookmark tables or essays
Searchable term and contributor indexes
View tables in PDF or HTML format
Tables online include full documentation, sources, and footnotes
Select certain years or series of years to view, download, print, or graph
Download unrounded table data, for more detailed statistical analyses.
Enhanced table display features: jump to a certain table column (series), skip over blank data cells, highlight table rows and columns for readability
Toggle table sorting by ascending or decending year
Create and download colorful charts, graphs, and plots
Over the last 80 years, ProQuest has built the world’s most comprehensive and renowned dissertations program. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global), continues to grow its repository of 5 million graduate works each year, thanks to the continued contribution from the world’s universities, creating an ever-growing resource of emerging research to fuel innovation and new insights.