Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTRODUCTION TO WATSON LIBRARY: Article Databases

Learn what resources and services Watson Library offers to help fulfill your reading, information, and learning needs.

FINDING ARTICLES

OPAL PROXY - Articles and More: Anywhere/Anytime Login to Watson and OhioLINK Databases

Basic Databases for Research Using Published Sources:

Academic Search Complete [other databases can be added to your search]

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)

Databases helpful for some sections of English 101:

MasterFILE Premier  - general interest, public library-type articles

Nexis Uni  - news, editorials, legal cases and law reviews, and business information

Literary Reference Center

MLA International Bibliography

Humanities International Complete

Now What?

Do I have to print every article?

No - You can save articles to your network or "travel" drive, email them to yourself, or save citations and abstracts using copy/paste to a .doc file for later selection and retrieval.  There are even ways to make the database generate a custom list of citations and abstracts for you  - just ASK US for the details.

FOLLOWING CITATIONS

FINDING MAGAZINE OR JOURNAL ARTICLES?

An ARTICLE CITATION is a brief description of one specific article in a magazine or journal. The elements of the citations help someone find the same article again. Several scholarly associations decide how citations of all source types should be formatted. 

  • Capture citations (and possibly full-text articles) using keyword searches in Watson/OhioLINK article databases.  [Tips: Try variations and combinations of terms. Try just two very specific terms.]
  • Capture citations from your textbooks or from books, reference books, and other articles. If the articles are not easily located in print, online, or through article databases, consult a Watson librarian.
  • Capture additional citations from other relevant articles. 

EFFICIENCY TIP -- "Capture" -- to copy complete citations into a working list or a "want list" of articles.  If you are working online, open a .doc and copy/paste complete citations as a check list and for later reference.  Remember that these copy/paste citations likely are not in official citation format.  Always check citations against the most recent citation manual for your class before submission.

EFFICIENCY TIP:  Each resulting citation in the OhioLINK Article Databases may have links to full text (look carefully).   When you click GO/ENTER, you may be led through one or more clicks to the actual full-text of the article.  If not, consult your Watson Librarian as full-text may be available using other strategies.  

EFFICIENCY TIP -- Remember that you can email your most wanted but elusive citations to library@wilmington.edu (include your name and phone number) so that a librarian can assist you. 

OhioLINK Off-Network Login

How to Access Watson/OhioLINK Resources Off-Network - Watson WiFi, your own laptop on wireless; in your own home, not VPN; off campus,IPad.  

Your name is your login. Your Wilmington College ID number with preceding zeros - 000###### - is your "password"  (barcode number, library number) for using Watson databases including OhioLINK databases off-network. Examples have 9 digits total: 000001234, 000012345, 000123456)

Login to Watson/Database Proxy Server HERE if you are not on the Wilmington College campus computer network.  You will obtain access to Watson specific as well as Watson/OhioLINK databases and proprietary services. If you are working within the OhioLINK database website, you will be prompted to login as needed.  

If you are using a Wilmington College campus networked computer (or are connected via Wilmington VPN), no login or password will be required. 

Interlibrary Loan

EFFICIENCY TIP -- When your Librarian at Watson Library cannot locate a citation in house or online, the next step is to consider requesting an Inter-library Loan.  Please plan ahead as this process may take a couple of weeks.  Request only articles that promise to deliver quality information.  Here is the form for requesting articles through ILL: Access ILL Request form.


Blackboard // Campus Map // Student Success Lounge // WC Homepage // WC Directory // WC Bookstore // WC Portal

Address: Watson Library - Pyle Center Box 1227, Wilmington College, 1870 Quaker Way, Wilmington, OH 45177

Creative Commons License